Daily Archives: Friday.October 2.2009

A Week of VJM – Thursday September 24th, 2009

Thursday September 24th, 2009. Wake up. Shower. Cereal. Ten-ten bus. Canada Line.

When I reach the Canada Line I am disappointed to see that the patch of dirt that had supplied my ‘700’ was being replaced with cement. The ‘700’ itself was also gone.

I only have the single one hour Geography class on Thursday, so I spend the rest of the time working on my story. I had work that day but I forgot my uniform at home. So, at three I took the trip back home, grabbed my uniform, and took the trip back to Richmond Center. I also got my camera. I arrived with enough time to sit in the mall for half an hour before walking to work. While at the mall I worked on my story.

When work was done I walked back to the Canada Line and waited for my bus. But, instead of the 407 that would take me to my house, I decided to take the 401 for two reasons. One reason was that it arrived earlier. The other was that it would take me practically right to the pier.

I arrive about a block away and ready my camera. I was hoping on another night shooting on the day before the day they left. It was about ten fifty.

While walking I see a big white tent set up with shadows eating and talking inside. I continue towards the pier and pass a man with a shopping cart full of cans. When I reach the filming location and am disappointed to see them filming another in-door scene. Nevertheless, I take the opportunity to take pictures at a time that I’m not often able to: night.

While steadying a shot, one of my friends from high school, along with his ‘posse’, came up behind me and started a conversation. They had been or were about to be drinking, but they weren’t any kind of dangerous so I wasn’t worried.

We talked about what we had been up to since grad. He asked me to tell him a joke and I told him one of the insults I had traded with my other friend on the beach on Sunday. Then his friend, who was obviously a little bit more drunk, attempted, (and majorly failed at) a joke of his own.

We continued talking and then another posse of about three or four people arrived. I recognized one of them from my old high school, and then they joined the conversation. Shortly after, one of the security guards hired by the film company mosey-ed over. He was an older gentleman and, being in security, wanted to get a handle on this group of teens loitering by the pier. And, with an exception to me, rightfully so.

He does some small-talk with the group. My friend from high school asked him a question, which after I clean it up a bit, translates into something along the lines of “do flashers frequent the set,” and the man answered in the affirmative. The other kid I recognized complained about the height of the American flag, saying it shouldn’t be higher than the Canadian flags. The man talked for a bit afterward before continuing on his patrol.

About two or three blocks down the street, we see police lights and two police men come out of the squad car. Long story short, the cops had found one of the teens friends who had apparently just robbed a liquor store, and was very obviously drunk. They handcuffed him on the ground and put him into the squad car.

I talk with my friend for a bit longer and then head home. While passing the playground turned dark-and-spooky-field-of-shadows-and-things-to-trip-over, I hear voices and see shadows meandering through the darkness. I could tell that they were teens but, none the less, I picked up the pace a bit. A little bit down the way, a younger group of teens crosses the street in front of me. As they pass me they drunkenly wave and say hello. I got home at around eleven thirty without any further incident. Luckily, the rest of the house had already fallen asleep, so me entering the house caused no further incident either.

Happy with my adventure as having been the most sober person out walking late at night, I lounge onto my bed and turn on the tv.

Pictures will be available with tomorrows batch of pictures.