Daily Archives: Wednesday.May 20.2009

Verily, Junk Memoirs – G

G – Gamestop
Gamestop is a chain of stores which sells video games in the U.S., (its Canadian equivalent is E.B. Games). One day in a mall, while on a trip to California to visit family friends, their ten year old son and I decided to go into the local Gamestop. Once inside, we each picked up one of the strategy guides off the rack and began flipping through. After a minute or so, one of the shop keepers informed us, rather rudely, that ‘this wasn’t a library’ and to put the books back. Being children with no real authority, we put the books away and left the store. I spent the entire rest of the day thinking up comebacks I would have been able to use on the clerk; not because he asked us to stop reading, but because of how he said it. Now, I admit that he was totally in the right, but that did not make him sound any less of a jerk. As the day wore on, my come backs got more and more eccentric. One had me demand weather or not he knew who I was and then revealing that my father was either Jackie Chan or the owner of the store. Another involved my friend bursting into tears, me trying to clam him down, and then telling the clerk that he would ‘be hearing from my lawyers’ as I walked out the door. Another had me look him in the eye and, in perfect un-accented English, say that “I’m sorry, I don’t understand English.” When I told my mother, she said that none of those would have been very polite. She then ended by saying that I should have later brought the book up to the counter and, when asked to pay, pull out my library card.

-next post May 21 @ 8:oo pm