Daily Archives: Sunday.May 24.2009

Verily, Junk Memoirs – M

M – Marble
In my pocket right now is a blue marble. I got it in grade five from my friend (referred to by my other friends as ‘Marble Girl’) who sat in the row behind me and one desk to the left. I don’t remember the exact circumstances of me getting it, but I do know that I’ve more or less had it with me ever since. It has sort of been my lucky charm, I guess, although I don’t know how lucky or charming it makes me. I have gone to surprisingly great lengths to try and not lose it. For the first year or so, I put it in a sort of pouch looking thing we had made with a guest speaker earlier in the year. Later on, I put it in an empty box of mints. I chose to use a box of mints as opposed to nothing as it is the perfect size, and if I just put the marble in my pocket, it would be more likely to fall out. The box apparently gives it the necessary drag to stay put.
It is currently in different ratty old empty mint box.

-next post May 25 @ 8:oo pm