Daily Archives: Thursday.May 21.2009

Verily, Junk Memoirs – I

I – Ivy
In grade seven, my friend and I were tasked to do a science project on a topic of our choice. We, after a long discussion, decided to test the effects of various liquids on the growth of a potted ivy type plant. In our test, we used water (as the control), sugar water, and lastly soy sauce. The sugar plant was by far the largest, but not without significant mold growth on the soil. The soy sauce did not seem to have any effect on its plant, save for causing it to smell of soy sauce. Or it died, I don’t really recall. Either way, after the project I decided to take home and keep the control plant. I managed to keep it alive for several years (saving it from the brink of death several times), until the fateful day it was knocked off my desk and (WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE), thrown away.

-next post May 22 @ 8:oo pm