Daily Archives: Monday.September 28.2009

A Week of VJM – Sunday September 20th, 2009

Sunday September 20th, 2009 started like Sundays tend to start now a days. I woke up at eight, took a shower, and then ate a bowl of frosted flakes for breakfast. My parents were going to arrive at ten to pick up my grandmother and myself for church. The pick up time used to be later, but since dad started getting behind the wheel, his intense fear of being late or, God forbid, on time for anything has affected the timeline. We also used to stop by the McDonalds drive-thru for breakfast. Dad was late picking us up, and half an hour later, we arrived at the church.

Upon walking into the narthex, I began to have a conversation with Sari. The Friday before, I had offered my assistance as a psychiatrist and she wanted to thank me for my surprisingly helpful advice. We waited a few minutes by the sanctuary doors for Thea to arrive before finally taking a seat. I’m proud to say I was able to stay awake through the sermon, and then shambled to the chapel for coffee and snacks. There were no snacks today, and I didn’t really drink coffee, so that was very short lived. I continued onto the hall outside the chapel where I met Ted. We talked about the awkwardness of seeing an acquaintance from afar; how soon to wave, whether to wave or nod or smile, etc. Our conversation was then joined by Philip.

Earlier, as I was getting off the car, my mom mentioned to me that we would not be staying after church as late as we usually would, that I would not be going directly back to my grandparents house as planed, and that she would call me when it was time to go. As I was wondering when this call would arrive, Thea and Sari came downstairs from their classes, and also joined our conversation. I managed to steer the conversation onto feedback about my latest piece of writing. Neither of them had actually seen it, so with the waving of arms and my fake-angry-voice, I encouraged them to read it. Shortly after, my sister arrived to drag me to the car.

As we were passing the sanctuary, I saw Jacob inside, and decided to inquire about my purple headphones which I had left in his car on Friday. While I was waiting for him to finish his conversation, my phone rang. I knew before I answered it that it was my mom calling me to hurry up. When Jacob did finish his conversation, I only had time to bring my headphones to his attention, before running off to meet my mom. He offered to unlock the car to let me retrieve the headphones, but I told him to just give it to me on Friday.

However, when I arrived at the door out to the car, I saw my mom lounging and talking to her friends. When she noticed me she went out he door and, slowly, walked to the car. I decided to go back and grab my headphones after all.

In the car, after pulling out of the parking lot, my mom told me that I would be able to be dropped off at my grandparents house. When I got there, I went up to my room to grab my camera. I was going for one of my famous pier walks.

As I left the house, I checked my pockets. Key, camera and marble in one. iPod in another. And lastly, my headphones. I pull my camera out of my pocket, and then out of it’s case. I start off with a picture of the sun as it hangs in the sky above the road.

When I reach the corner of Steveston and no. 1, I turn to my left and cross the street. I keep walking until I reach another intersection. This intersection, the one with the McDonalds mentioned in an earlier post, did not have a crosswalk light. I always felt weird crossing it, so instead I decided to pave new ground and find another crosswalk. I found one by the community center. After crossing it and following the sidewalk, it led me to a part of the boardwalk farther than I usually went.

I took a few pictures of the water and islandy thing in the distance. Continuing onto my right, I see a house shaped metal structure extending out onto the fishing platform thing. (Now, I don’t own a boat, nor do I frequent this area very often, so bear with me on my nautical terms.)

When I reach the whatever-it’s-called, I hear the sound of a toddler behind me. In the corner of my eye, I see a stroller being pushed and dismiss it.

“Hey! It’s you!”

I turn around. It was Thea, her mom, and her littler brother. Her mom asked jokingly if I was waiting for my girlfriend and Thea, knowing the story about me and Marble Girl, made a comment about the awkwardness of the question.
I talked with Thea for a bit as her brother tried to throw his hat into the ocean. Afterwards, they continue their walk as I hang back and take a few more pictures.

When I do continue on, I run into Dwight and his friend. We talk briefly about my camera before parting ways.

When I reach the pier, I walk around for a bit taking pictures of things. This included the sun, a flag, and someone else taking pictures. When I pass te Blue Canoe, I noticed that the hostess had been one if my classmates. It wasn’t who I was hoping it was, but we had a conversation none the less. I then continued onto Garry Point.

On my way to Garry Point, I walked past a trio of life sized people statues of fishermen. I recognized a classmate nearby, taking pictures of the st atues with who I assume is his date. I continue walking. As I walk, two people on bicycles bike past me. As the pass, I manage to catch a fragment of their conversation.

“I hear they’re gonna be filming in one of the restaurants here.”
“Not Pajo’s, though.”
“No, not Pajo’s.”

Reaching Garry Point, I was surprised by how blue the water looked, as well as the number of seagulls. I walked about halfway down it’s length, and then turned and walked back, while taking pictures of course. Mostly of the setting sun and the weird needle statue monument thing.

While walking, I saw yet another member of my grad class. He was sitting on a log, also with a date. Upon noticing me, he came over and we talked about how we’ve been since grad, and bookending our conversation topics by trading insults. None of which I’ll mention here.

I made my way back to the trio of statues, took some pictures, and continued back to the pier. There, I took more pictures of the sunset. One cloud was lit up and angled in such a way that it almost looked like the sky was splitting open. After that I went home, ate dinner, and watched The Simpsons, or something.

Pictures available on Facebook.